AK Rifles banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
678 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an amateur Saiga 12 man. Any help would be appreciated.
I was looking at the new SGL12 shotguns at K-Var. Do these now have a legitimate bolt hold open? The old ones didn't, right?
Also, can someone explain to me what the problem is with getting ahold of the Russian factory made 8 round magazines? Is it import restrictions that have made them so hard to get ahold of or is it some kind of political nonsense the Russians are doing to make them look kindler and gentler? Or are the factory Russian 8 rounders available now? Or will they be?
Also, any info on new features these new SGL12's have that makes them different to the old "Saiga 12s" would be much appreciated!
Thanks guys!

·
Premium Member
13,379 Posts
The SGL-1294 comes with the 8rd mag, but cost $1800.00. K-VAR is likely selling the mags seperate on the lower priced 12's
Myself, I would buy the Vepr12 with original Russian tubular buttstock..these were a limited import and can be found for
$1000.00 at AIM Surplus and Classic Firearms. Extra 10rd and 12rd magazines are all over the internet.

·
Registered
507 Posts
Mainly the differences of the models are similar to their rifles. The add a part charge couple hundred more, add another part or folder and charge another couple. K var did import for a short time, not sure if they still do, a last round bolt hold open model. The 8 round mags are actually not cheap even in Russia. Legion has them for around a Benjamin now.

·
Registered
13 Posts
On K-Var's site, the difference between the 12-08 and 12-09 is the foreend rail (it's bolted to the handguard retainer), $113 on K-var for the part alone.
The 12-94 has a real AK101 style sidefolder, but that is a HEFTY price to pay for it.
All three are analogous to the IZ-409 with the standard Saiga gas system and bead site.