AK Rifles banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
738 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the process of trying to assemble parts for a correct period 88' AK-74 using an Izhmash Rguns parts kit. What would be the correct receiver sight base to use on this? Did the Russian military use a certain style on their weapons systems that used optics? Would this style be the same for a 86' Krinkov?

I'm still a AK newbie. ;)

Thanks.

·
Registered
8,426 Posts
Yes, the same style as used on a Russian 80's era AKSU.

·
Registered
8,426 Posts
There will be more, of course, and they are on order, but she's out of stock right now.

I hate to recommend my daughter's competition, but If you are in a big crunch for time and don't necessarily require one that is exactly "Soviet correct" in cosmetics, there are at least two choices I'd consider. First, you could use the Bulgarian version of this rail as sold by Kvar. It's sized correctly but uses non-Russian style squared off lightening grooves. Secondly, there's a new one being sold by Desert Fox Outfitters that looks fairly close just going by the images on their website. It may be the best available alternative until the RMP-3 is available, and the last time I checked they were in stock.