AK Rifles banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thank God I only have one more semester, because I can't take these ripoff bookstores any longer. I had 6 classes left, so I decided to break em up between this summer and fall. I go in the bookstore today to sell back my 3 books, and they offer me $50. This was for $400 worth of books. :shock: I said hell no! I would rather throw them in the dumpster than let them use em for their racket. I'm so sick of selling my books for next to nothing just to have them turn around and re-sell them for what I paid.

I know, I could have been saving myself alot of trouble and money by buying them online, but hindsight is 20/20. Anyways-atleast now I've gotten to vent a little.

·
Registered
4,616 Posts
You'd be amazed how much college you can get through not buying or reading the books.

BBA, UGA class of 2000

·
Registered
204 Posts
When I was an undergrad, I learned that lesson well. Waited until I needed a book to buy it. It was amazing how many I never bought. Law school was a different story, I needed pretty much every one. My last semester, I spend about $500 on books, and got about $37 back for the ones they would even take. At that point, I didn't care. The rest will become targets once I have a chance to go shooting again.

You can save money online, but I always thought that was a pain.

·
Registered
504 Posts
I hear ya. I just wrapped up a summer class only to be told they weren't buying back my book. Paid $90.00 for it too.

I have took at least two classes where the teacher didn't use a book from the book store. One was a speech class and the other was a calculus class. The teacher of the calculus class made up the material everyday. At the end of the semester, between his handouts and our notes, we had a pretty damn good book.

I hope that trend catches on.

·
Registered
2,965 Posts