AK Rifles banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
2,060 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally got some temp employment. I have to stay awake for 48 hours this weekend. Is that hard to do? I have never tried it before. I bought mountain dew. I have high blood pressure so I am scared to try any of those stackers and things.

· Registered
3,162 Posts
Its hard to do for the first few times. The key is to keep your mind going. What type of work? Can you have something like a puzzle book with you? Drink TONS of water so you have to always pee works for some.

I too don't like too much of the big hitters etc, but sometimes there is no replacement for caffiene.

· Registered
2,356 Posts
I have done 3 16 hour shifts. Like go in at 3pm and get off at 0745am, be back at 3pm the same day. Do that 3 days in a row. Umm, it rapes your sole. But, its doable.

G

·
I got hooked on Panzer General II and played it for 69 hours-- straight! I slept for 18 hours after that. Just don't do anything dangerous, like run a drill press or go for a drive after about 36 hours, get's a little dangerous.

· Registered
11,464 Posts
If you have high blood pressure, get it treated. Risk of stress-induced complications are higher with long shifts and especially with a lack of sleep. Also, most blood pressure medicines are on the $4/30 or $10/90 day supply list, so the medications are cheap too.

I've only spent about 30 hours awake (no sleep) before, it wasn't too bad, but I'm bracing myself for facing what you're going to be doing in the future when in medical school and residency. My best tips are to try to eat healthy, drink water, and stay alert. Things like Spike, Stacker 2s, etc. are amphetamine prodrugs, the body metabolizes them into the active drug, they are bad for you in general but especially if you have high blood pressure.

· Registered
2,060 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks fellas.