AK Rifles banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
772 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Putting a bullet guide in a milled receiver, and the procedure itself shouldn't be very difficult. However, it's my first time doing it so I have two questions:

1: Do I have to install the guide before the barrel? I figure it would be a bit difficult to wiggle it in place if the barrel is installed, reason I'm asking is simply that I still haven't ordered the guide, but would like to start tinkering with the build.

2: There's not much wiggle room to locate it lengthwise, so I figure you just plop it in place, drill the hole and rivet it? Or should it be scooted against the back or the front if there's any clearance?

·
Registered
2,868 Posts
usually receivers and bullet guides have holes in them already so that kinda removes the guesswork and you don't need to scoot anything.

putting a bullet guide before the barrel would be preferable but not critical i suppose. without barrel in place you have more option on how you will be pressing it. you can get in there with a press ram and shortest punch easily. When barrel is in the way it would not be as easy.

·
Registered
772 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
There's no pre-drilled hole in this one, and that's why I thought there might be more to it than just slapping it in there. What you're saying about the installation order makes perfect sense, I just have to fight the urge to build until I have the guide :)

BTW: Do you know of any good tools to smooth out the rivet, in case it ends up proud of the ramp? I have tried to polish a few rough ramps, and working inside the receiver with a file or a Dremel is not easy. I guess it's only the rear edge of it that really matters to the function, but I'm kinda anal about neat installations. The only tool I can think of would be some kind of angled rotary tool, so do I need to take it to my dentist?

·
Registered
2,868 Posts