AK Rifles banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My question is a 2 parter here. One I'm curious about how much to expect to spend getting into the NFA game. I know how much the suppressor itself would cost but how much does the whole process AT cost with the ATF and about how long it takes? Also Im a welder in a fabrication shop and am good friends with a machinist here. If I wanted to make my own is that legal as long as I keep the ATF in the loop and pay the dues on that? Thanks to anyone who answers.

·
Registered
2,343 Posts
there is a series of articles on TFB. it covers most of your questions pretty well.

cost-wise stamp is $200 and wait time between 6 and 12 month depending on the type and number of applications submitted. as of now, in pre-election time - load is the to the max.

with new fingerprint card rule you might expect even longer processing times, since for now, eForms are not yer able to deal with this change. paper application was always longer than eForm.

there are also a bunch of good videos on youtube explaining steps and such, as it pertains to transferring or manufacturing a silencer.

i can imagine most will be somewhat obsolete, withing a scope of 'fingerprint card' rule change

google is your friend as well. this topic is too large in volume and details to give you concise break down. one must do a thorough research prior to getting into NFA-controled things. mistakes can potentially land you in club-fed.

·
Registered
1,987 Posts
If you make it or buy it uncle gets his $200 first then you got to wait for several months and then if you dotted all your i's and crossed your t's correctly one day your paperwork magically appears in your mailbox and you can legally take possession of your very own suppressor. It's like Christmas!

·
Registered
560 Posts