AK Rifles banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

Registered
馃憣
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Life be hard. I need to supplement my income, but also want AK parts for a build. Message me if you have use of my very specialized skills and what we can trade for them. I know how to do the Russian finish. I studied. I mean seriously studied. We're talking like the days where Tantal's was active and Mr. recto was still doing this kind of work.

The clarity, glossiness and hand brush stroked texture is pinpoint accurate. If you think my work looks like factory takeoffs fresh out of the paper, I know, I'm awesome ;-) I can even color match. Not exclusive to AK(s), but just understand that a whole Nagant or SKS will require more time and supplies. I mix only enough for each project. >To color match to an existing part of yours, you will need to send a part. Digital photos (RGB) are subject to a myriad of factors that can not guarantee a perfect match other than how it looks to my eye when shown on a computer screen, though it is enough for finishing a complete set to near accurate-accurate, (since all parts will use the same batch of finish)

There is also virtually no advantage to applying this finish to anything but Russian made wood. The geometry of the milling and brightness of the Baltic birch are not found on anything else. Maybe, just MAYBE a Maadi can get away with it. I as a consumer can imagine myself being disappointed if in the end, no matter what materials were used, the build still looked "off". WASR, Bulgarian, Solid wood that isn't off a Russian AK, or anything that has been permanently tainted with oils and wood stain are not ideal. Examples of my work below ->

Registered
Your work is fantastic we will be in touch over a future project

Reactions: JC507JC

Registered
I can say that that is a beautiful red color on those. I've used Thai seedlac, 2lb cut, for mine but haven't been able to get that red. I was using a repo hand guard though.

Registered
馃憣