AK Rifles banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, newbie here ! Wanted to install a new grip on my 1985 AKS223 underfolder. The grip screw backs out a turn and the stops as if the nut is "crimped" . I didn't want to damage the screw head so I didn't torque it hard. Any tips? Or suggestions?
Thanks,
Jay

·
Registered
4,364 Posts
Welcome to the group!

Some of the Poly Tech grip screws were staked in place, so what you are feeling is just that, it's resistance to loosening up. I have been lucky with mine that just being very careful and turning the screw out didn't damage anything.

After getting the screw out, I took the nut out of the receiver and turned it on by hand to make sure nothing was damaged, then ran the screw through the nut a few times to make sure I could easily reinstall the grip.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks IndyKid! I will tread gently. It's a new acquisition in super shape, but the wood leaves something to be desired. I have a nice Black plastic Russian grip to fit to it. I have two sets of hand guards both super nice to fit to it . Haven't made up my mind to go with Hungarian hand guards or some nice Russian ones I picked up about 18 years ago . The Hungarians have been refinished in a deep red stain and are ready to be fitted . The Russian set is mis matched colors so some refinishing is required but the lower hand guard has that nice bulge and some great grain to the wood.

·
Registered
4,364 Posts
What ever you do, do not lose or damage the original furniture as the rifle is very collectible and would lose a lot of value if you don't keep the wood with it. Granted some Poly Tech wood was flat out ugly, but if it was original, ugly was what stayed with the rifle.