AK Rifles banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't know where to start, but I want another AK... So bad it's burning a hole in that back of my mind.
I was thinking about building my own and I have zero experience at doing so. And that's where my questions come in.

The AK I want to build would be like the Polish Beryl in the Polish forum. I already have a traditional looking SAR-1, and now I want a more modern AK, all black, with a buttstock like the Polish AK's. I wanted to get one in .223 but I was was wondering if they make receivers for that caliber and if they sell parts kits in that caliber.

I can't directly fund a rifle all at once so I was thinking about buying the parts slowly and once I get them all I could build it or get someone to build it for me. If I do that what parts do you suggest I should buy first?

I'm traveling to Dayton Ohio for the next couple of weeks and I was thinking about heading to Ohio Rapid Fire to see what kind of parts they got. What do you all think of those receivers? Or should I wait and go with another company?

I want everyones opinions please...
I'm not really sure of my options and I was wondering if you all would lend your help to a new guy.

Thanks.

To all of you that build AK's :hail: I want to learn.

·
Registered
1,726 Posts
Soldier48 said:
The AK I want to build would be like the Polish Beryl in the Polish forum.
Beryl parts are not generally available. A Tantal is similar, but significantly different than the rifles the Polish troops are using in Iraq. If you did find some Beryl parts, they would be expensive. Not the sort of kit you'd wanna teach yourself to build AKs on.

I already have a traditional looking SAR-1, and now I want a more modern AK, all black, with a buttstock like the Polish AK's. I wanted to get one in .223 but I was was wondering if they make receivers for that caliber and if they sell parts kits in that caliber.