AK Rifles banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

· Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt at gardening this year and the thing is beautiful. The wife and I followed the seed packet directions but still have things too close. That being said I have huge squash plants, and giant tomato plants, I am talking 5ft tall since Easter. BUT no fruit. I have beefsteaks, and brandywines, and I just read that I should be pruning them? I water with a sprinkler for about 15min per day and the plants seem to be doing well, but read on the webs that it may be too much for the tomatoes? My peppers aren't there yet either:( Any suggestions would be welcome. I am quite the novice in this area.

· Registered
774 Posts
oh my gosh where do you live? I live in the somewhat temperate willamette valley in Oregon and we've had so much rain we're way behind in planting. we just got the last of the stuff in today (we plant a large garden). the ground's been too wet to do much but rot stuff thisyear.

· Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am in the northeast area of DFW, it is drying out around here. I used good cow poo dirt, real black land soil in some raised beds. The squash in the same box is rocking and rolling.

· Registered
774 Posts
ah, that would help a lot (drying out). I test our soil every few years and adding whatever seems indicated has been a big help. some years it's minerals and when I finally realized what I needed to do it took a whole year to get the soil tests back where they needed to be. we'd used the same garden spot for almost 20 years.

· Super Moderator
6,303 Posts
Proper Ph balance is necessary. Might want to add some garden lime.

· Registered
865 Posts
My tomatoe and pepper crop is going well. I used a one gallon mixture of Miracle Grow Super start and water along with 1 vitamin tablet ( I am old so I use Centrim Silver) disolved in the water and Miracle Grow. I water each plant three time per week. Good luck.

· Registered