AK Rifles banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Norinco AK-47 sporter with a thumb hole stock. It is threaded for a muzzle break but i suspect that was done later on. Now here is what i want to know it is clear that is was at once an underfolder due to the holes on the side. I believe it is a slant cut reciever but i am not sure. I hate the thumb hole stock that it came with and have always wanted to change it out. I would like to add a underfolder stock on it. so i am curious how difficult would this be and how hard is it to find a chinese underfolder stock or any underfolder that will fit but i suspect it needs to be chinese considering their recievers seem to be thicker. I am a TIG welder and metal fabricator so if there is any modifications i need to do the gun i am more than willing to if its within my capability. Added some pictures incase it helps any of yall help me solve this problem thanks everyone and sorry for my lack of knowledge.
Electronics Metal Tool

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Has anyone done something like this and would b able to offer some advice.

·
Registered
4,346 Posts
that was an underfolder that was caught up in the ban, so they put a 'plug' in the underfolder holes and welded a tang for the thumbhole stock. You need to cut the tang off and dress the welds. They are usually pretty crappy welds and a sharp tap with a hammer will usually knock the tang off. Then remove the plug over the underfolder hole. A chinese underfolder stock set will be ideal as it's a drop in but I've heard that others can be made to work. I'm not sure how, but that is all you need to do to put the underfolder on. There is no trunnion to add or anything else. That is how the chinese did their underfolders.

Reactions: KWE

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)