AK Rifles banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I'm just getting into AK's and I'm thinking I want to get an O PAP or N PAP that is Imported from Century. Are the Yugo made AK's nice? Do they have canted sights? Any issues? Should I go with the O PAP or N PAP? Are there any other differences then the trunnion?

·
Registered
4,599 Posts
The {O,N} PAPs are very nice rifles. High quality. You will be happy with either. Do a little searching here, the differences between the O and N have been discussed many times.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks mojo. I have been doing lots of research and now understand the difference between the O Pap and N Pap rifles. I think I may go for the N Pap but not really sure still. Either way I do plan I getting a Yugo AK within the next month

·
Registered
4,359 Posts
Welcome to the group!

The Yugos seem to be among the better of the AK variants that Century has imported. Most people that have them seem to be very happy with them.

As for canted sight or gas blocks, the design of the AK lends itself to having these parts installed crooked so it is possible to find canted parts from any manufacturer. Some are more careful than others, using better jigs in setting up the barrel and receiver, some are not as careful. It seems the Romanians were the least careful as finding canted sight or gas blocks on their rifles is more possible than on the old Chinese Norincos. Again, the Yugos seem to be on the good side of the coin.

·
Registered
200 Posts
My Yugo is a N PAP which has the nicer furniture and the receiver thickness checks out at .059. Great quality rifle but has the dreaded canted FS.

·
Registered
2,662 Posts