AK Rifles banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4,344 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, Im a noob to this forum, and a noob to working on fire arms, but NOT a noob to doing machine work, and using tools.

So that aside, Ive go a MAK-90 that is bone stock, and fairly un-used. The threads on the end of hte barrel have been mostly turned off, and I want to put a muzzle brake on the end.

SO, the big question: What are my options?

Thanks!
clay

·
Technical Advisor
15,622 Posts
Thread it to 1/2 28 and there is or was a fellow on this board selling US made copies of slant brakes in 1/2 28 for about $20 or 2 for $35, I believe.

·
Registered
4,344 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Flyingjibus said:
or thread it to 14 to 1 LH and use all the other brakes and such out there.
Some kind of thread was turned down to make this rifle compliant, and Im assuming they were the M14x1. Am I wrong in my thinking?

·
Technical Advisor
15,622 Posts
ClayC said:
Flyingjibus said:
or thread it to 14 to 1 LH and use all the other brakes and such out there.
Some kind of thread was turned down to make this rifle compliant, and Im assuming they were the M14x1. Am I wrong in my thinking?
You are correct. Disregard the 14/1 issue. Barrel diameter is too small. You are closer to .510 to .515" or so. Always pays to caliper it first but that is the norm for turned down MAK and Maadi rifles.

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
MAK90

All of the MAK 90's I have owned had muzzles over .550" and could be threaded for 14x1mm threads. I have one BKW92 (.556mm MAK) and its as new muzzle is .485, even marginally too small to be threaded for 1/2-28 threads. The bottom line is you need close to .550" diameter muzzle to thread for 14x1mm and .500, no less than .490, to thread for 1/2-28 threads. If you don't just have to have a muzzle device on that rifle, don't worry about "correctness" because China has exported many full auto AK's that have bare muzzles.

·
Registered
1,530 Posts