AK Rifles banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Brakes on your 7.62s? Don't see many .30 cals with those types of brakes on 'em. Usually see muzzle nuts or slant brakes. How effective are they?

My wife won't shoot my AKs because of the recoil. She will shoot my ARs, and does enjoy shooting them. So, I thought I'd try a '74 brake to see if it significantly reduces "felt" recoil. Just received the brake yesterday, but have yet to try it out.

Bud

·
Registered
181 Posts
I use one on one of my AKs, and I do think that it lessens perceived recoil. A lot of guys will look at you like an idiot if you put one of these on your 7.62 Ak, but I say "kiss my @$$". If I can screw one of these onto my AK and it helps me with follow up shots by lessening recoil then I think they are great. But then again I am not an AK "collector" I am an AK builder and shooter. Yes I do have 3 AKs hanging on my wall, but that is only so I don't have to dig into one of the safes when I want/need one.

·
Registered
6,478 Posts
To each their own :twirl: . I prefer my 7.62's to have slants or muzzle nuts. I'm sort of a purist :wink: ...

Do what you like my friend. :grin:

·
Registered
193 Posts
I used one quite a bit on my 7.62 version and really like it.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
You need to buy an AK74 clone my friend. No recoil and the AK74 brake is correct.

Edited to add: Chicks dig it :twisted:

·
Registered
14,916 Posts
Yup, chicks most definitely dig an AK-74 :bd:

But seriously.........yes, the US made '74 style brakes in .30 cal do work. My buddy who has a registered Class 3 AKM put one on his and it really helps with mag dumps.

Methinks you still need to add an AK-74 to your armory just for her though. :twisted:

·
Registered
1,527 Posts