AK Rifles banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys,

This is my first post here so if I say anything stupid let me know.

I've recently decided that I would like to build my own AK's after reading 'The Gun' by CJ Chivers and seeing various posts on picture on the internet by home gunsmiths.

I have a small metal shop and a background in blacksmithing/bladesmithing and traditional metal working but very little in the way of milling experience. I have forges, quenching tanks, drills, welders presses etc. and know how to use them and some experience with gunsmithing but never anything as major as making a whole firearm, other than various recreations of medieval hand cannons.

The idea that an AK can be stamped, pressed, folded etc rather than milled intrigues me as that is where most of metal working skill lies.

I am self taught in most things and am pretty good at figuring out how to do things once I have the parts in my hands.

The problem is that I have never and do not currently own an AK type rifle and so I know very little about the particulars of their components. I own many other guns but have never handled an AK in person. (They are fairly rare in my part of US, western MT, here the AR is king) and as it seems that it costs almost as much to buy one as it does to make one that it would be a waste to buy one to learn on if what you really want to do is make them. I know a lot about AR's and general firearms technology but have only begun to learn about the AK.