AK Rifles banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All- A newbie here and have a question. I bought a Century Arms AK some time ago. Looked clean when I bought it and test fired it. ran about 6 rounds through it, no issues, then stuck it in the closet. Decided to strip it down and give her a good cleaning. Issue I have is, I couldn't get a pipe cleaner or even a piece of wire of any kind through the gas port hole and into the barrel. I can do this with my old AK made in Romania. Anyone ever have or heard of this problem before. TIA!

·
Registered
8,435 Posts
If there wasn't a gas port, you would not have been able to test fire it successfully.

Is this a US barrel? Common for the guys assembling on new barrels to drill the ports at 90 degrees instead of 45 degrees. That would make it hard to push anything through the port from the gas block end.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thats what I thought as well...doesn't make sense for it to fire without one; but not being able to see it from the end of the barrel while shining a light through the bore made me wonder. Not sure who made the barrel, how would I check for that? The only markings are the serial number and Century Arms info stamp.

·
Registered
3,599 Posts
Spray some Carb Cleaner using the little red tubes most cans come with down into the gas block as you look down the bore, it will spray through so don't get it in your eye. Also you can remove the punch tool from your buttstock cleaning kit and the pin end will go down through the gas port.

·
Registered
678 Posts
Is it an AK-74 type "90 degree" gas block? The hole in them is drilled at a right angle apparently. My old Chinese and Romanian AK's had the 45 degree gas block and you could use the reaming tool or a Q-tip and swab out the hole real easy, but the AK-74's I've dealt with require a 90 degree bend in something to get into the port.

·
Registered
4,935 Posts