AK Rifles banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to the whole AK building game, but not new to firearms in general. I have a (probably pretty stupid) question about front trunnions.

I bought a Polish parts kit awhile back, along with an 80% lower from AK builder and have been slowly working on putting together my first AK build. I noticed the parts kit does not come with front and rear trunnions. I've also noticed that they can be very hard to find on the internet. The one I found (linked here) is Hungarian, and seems to have some different nomenclature. (still learning the differences between AKM, AKMS, AKS, etc.)

Basically what I'm asking is, would that trunnion fit, and if not, does anyone know where to find one (preferably in stock) that does?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
322 Posts
Looks like you bought the wrong receiver, that appears to be a milled kit.
I'm thinking you can build a stamped gun but I would probably go milled.

Reactions: Sunspot

·
Registered
32 Posts
Yeah that receiver chunk your trigger guard is attached to appears to be a section of milled receiver. Milled receivers are kind of expensive but it does simplify several assembly steps. On the other hand as long as the barrel journal is sized right you may get away with mounting it to a stamped trunnion... Alternatively you could find a front milled stub and convert it somewhat into a trunnion but that is somewhat hackish.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Hmmm, had this same sort of question the other day... "can I build a milled kit on a stamped receiver?"

The short answer is yes, but why? Those type 3 milled kits are very nice, and IMO deserve to be built back to service on a proper milled receiver. Tortort, for example, but there are other options for milled receivers: Firing Line, CNCWarrior, ATM, and at least one other I can 't think of atm. But the Tortort is superb and would be my 1st choice.