AK Rifles banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok this may be a stupid question (questions) but this is my first build and want to do the appropriate research first. I got most of my parts as a gift to start and was just making sure this project is doable with what i have. I got a milled Yugo M70AB underfold kit, a stamped receiver from Childers, a front and rear trunnion from arms of America (polish Millitary). It seems like this will all work together i just wanted to get a second opinion. Your thought/comments are appreciated thank you.

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
RSB and Top cover will not work with what you have.. you will have to get a Bulgy milled RSB and standard milled or AKM top cover.. oh and then you have to change the gas tube and shit... lots of stuff... bad idea..... buy a romanian kit from AOA and build that... then get you a Tortort milled yugo receiver for your M70AB kit..

Reactions: zeek

·
Super Moderator
7,968 Posts
Yep, have to agree. An abundance of extra effort that will result in a far inferior result.

Building a milled kit on a stamped receiver is a bad idea from the start, and there are plenty of nightmarish examples from the dawn of AK collecting to prove this point. Trying to combine standard AKM with Yugo-type parts raises the folly by one order of magnitude. Attempting this as a first build... No.

·
Registered
615 Posts
I almost made the same mistake today. i was looking at Apex deals and saw they have Yugo M70AB kits with new barrel for like $279. I was about to jump on it, but decided to make sure I could find a milled Yugo receiver first... and nothing. The only one that I found was about $350 which negated the awesomeness of the deal. Always check receiver availability and cost.

·
Registered
890 Posts