AK Rifles banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First AK-47 furniture markings.

Making a trade for a Russian Tula 1973 AK-47, chrome Romanian barrel, East German wood stocks, unfired. Profesionally built by a reputable Armory. Im new to AKs and kind of taking a shot in the dark on paying real money instead of getting a WASR. Didn't even ask if reciever is milled or stamped. Talk to me about what I'm getting:rolleyes: Thanks

·
Registered
2,934 Posts
From what you described so far it seems good, we'll need pictures though to say for sure. Just for sanity safe, try checking headspace, receiver type, Nodak, AUSA etc. and rivets are correctly crushed and no barrel parts are canted. If you trust the builder it came fom or know of his good reputation there shouldn't be any problems, but if you're dropping some serious money on it it's always good to be sure. Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Builder was Cotton Wood Armory in Texas, all matching numbers. Traded a complete Delton upper /LRB lower bare bones AR-15 + 350. Never fired the AR, I finished it and immediately decided I am not an AR guy.

·
Premium Member
6,893 Posts
Based on what you're saying about the AR....$150 for the complete lower...$400-500ish for the upper... plus the $350 in cash... you probably over paid a little bit, but I wouldn't worry too much. Never heard of Cottonwood Armory but if they put it together right, you have an AKM with an original barrel (not US made) that should last a lifetime. Shoot it and enjoy it! As long as you're happy with it that's all that matters.

·
Banned
950 Posts
For a grand you can get a factory built AK. However we all learn about these things one way or another. Chalk it up as a lesson learned and trust me- it might be your first but won't be your last.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)