AK Rifles banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Arsenal 47. Lancaster 74. PSL x 54R. PSA 47.
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here, joined about 11 minutes ago, and this looks like the correct forum for some information, let me know if not. I did a search, found a few mentions of this thing:

Which I've had a hankering to build ever since I first found it in the game.

I see a cheek weld problem right off the bat. I'll also be leaving my safety lever on the right side...

I've located a close-enough shovel handle. Most are stamped and bent, even from back in the day (Fallout is based around 1950) and this thing looks like it was forged and machined.

The barrel/gas block/front sight are weird, I'll go "close enough" with those too.

How about that pistol grip, best I can tell that might be something from the very first milled AKs in the 40s, but I'm not sure. I'd be ok with anything made from wood, I can re-shape it and add a fake cross-bolt.

How about that lower handguard? I've come across some that are close, but not quite that curve-to-bulge profile.

Anyone familiar with paint know how I could achieve this specific splotchiness?

I'll be building this from a PSA so as not to ruin anything from across the sea.

Thanks everyone.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's awesome. I'm stealing that belt-sling idea for sure. Probably won't be forging my own receiver though.

·
Registered
623 Posts
Well, the "Handmade Assault Rifle" from the Fallout games main issue compared to an AK is that it is mirrored from a real AK. Even the bolt carrier is mirrored with the charging handle being on the left, it even ejects to the left too. There is also a complete lack of rivets, which I just suspect is an error on Bethesda's part. I mean, you could weld the trunnions in instead, but that's just extra work. The front handguard kinda looks like an RPK handguard in profile.