AK Rifles banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently got my first kit, a '82 Romy G. I also have a mess of other (mostly compliance) parts on the way as I got a good deal locally. I was planning this to be a standard Romy G build, but I just bought an SAR-1 which suits me just fine as a 'standard' AK, leaving me a lot more compliance/fun options for the build. I've therefore decided to build a -simple- practical folder 'truck gun' with not too many bells and whistles in basic black.

However, I'm an AK noob (I own the SAR-1 above and haven't had it long enough to actually shoot it yet!) so I figured why not run my proposed set-up past some folks who actually know what they are doing?

:hail:

Here's the bits I have so far (or are winging their way to me in the mail):

Romy G Kit (partial)
Bits missing from Romy G kit
Tapco G2 FCG (3 compliance parts)
Tapco rivet set
Tapco SAW pistol grip (1 compliance part) - I loved this on my SKS, so....
Choate polymer handguard set (1 compliance part)

And here's a list of the bits I'm planning to get:

Ace internal receiver block - AKRBC - I checked out the instructions and cutting the tang doesn't -seem- too hard, let me know if I'm wrong!
http://riflestocks.com/catalog/product_ ... cts_id=301

Ace side folding skeleton stock - AKFX-FS (1 compliance part) - I have the fixed version on my AR, awesome stock
http://riflestocks.com/catalog/product_ ... cts_id=351

No Dak Spud NDS3 100% receiver (1 compliance part) - I've heard about the Tapco trigger problems and had 60/40 "Go for it!/HELL no!', so this one has been a bitch for me to figure out.

Tapco 'cage' muzzle brake (1 compliance part)
http://www.tapco.com/proddesc.aspx?Id=e ... d61a314337

Here's what I need from you guys:

Point out if anything I've picked is known to be incompatible/shoddy. I've searched here before posting, but there's a -lot- of info here to wade through!