AK Rifles banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure everyone who posts in this section is intimately familiar with the "khyber sidefolder" triagular stock that on many khyber's,which is also the stadard stock on one of the 5.45mm paratrooper models.
Ive seen a few in pics and once IRL, and they dont look like a particularly complex part, and as an aspiring machinist, I have one question
Does anyone here know anyone or maybe themselves, who have made their own Khyber sidefolder. I know they have them on the market, but building one myself sounds like an interesting and challenging experience.
so please feel free to comment on difficulties, equipment you need, anything related to building those types of stocks.

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
i assume you mean a construction of a stock itself and hinged trunnion that will connect the stock to the receiver?

so trunnion would be most machining-intensive part. i see no way of fabricating it it without a vertical mill. that is if you wanna go for a clone of the original. as well you also might need a lathe to machine hinge axis pin, latch pin and locking piece.

although i can see how all this can be accomplished with just a bunch of bent sheetmetal pieces all welded together. For tools some pliers, vise, regular stock angle and round steel, drill, welder and dremmel or hacksaw and files. it won't look as pretty as original but it'll be functional. interesting challenge if you got some time on your hands.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i assume you mean a construction of a stock itself and hinged trunnion that will connect the stock to the receiver?

so trunnion would be most machining-intensive part. i see no way of fabricating it it without a vertical mill. that is if you wanna go for a clone of the original. as well you also might need a lathe to machine hinge axis pin, latch pin and locking piece.