AK Rifles banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
616 Posts
I know it's nigh-impossible to shove a full 30rd mag into an AR on a closed bolt but AKs don't have that problem...so...I load all mine to capacity.

·
Super Moderator
25,792 Posts
AKs I load to the top, but not ARs. I've never had a problem with FALs loaded to capacity either, but if I ever had to trust my like to one, I would probably down load to 18.
I actually saw with my own eyes a mag that would not lock up because it was loaded to 30 while in Iraq.

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Why did this thread get moved? I think it go's well beyond the magazine forum, witch only really only deal's with AK mag's.

·
Registered
2,965 Posts
We have been taught and are teaching that the whole "don't load your AR mags to capacity" is a myth. We recommend to not short yourself those rounds. I graduated USMC boot in 2000 and I've always been told in my non extravagant military career to download to 28 (or whatever) rounds because it will "wear the spring out". Well, as I got older and a little more outside experience, I have discovered that what was once taught to conventional forces was not always the best practice.

For provenance, I'm currently an LEA and a tac carbine instructor. We were taught through a "train the trainer" course from our tac team. The individual who taught our tac team and our agency is a retired SFOD-D (Delta Force/CAG) operator. I don't like parroting, but in this case, I think that gentleman's experience holds a ton of weight. As always, trust but verify for yourself.

Another myth dispelled is that it is in fact OK to rest your mag on the ground when shooting from the prone.