AK Rifles banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a Romanian RPK kit (1960's I think) from Arms of America and a Childers receiver and am about to send off to my builder, who has invited me to list specific requirements I might have and really I am looking for advice. I'm new to builds and for that matter have owned only 2 AK's prior to this and am not remotely an expert.

I have some concern in that I think I made a mistake in asking Arms of America to headspace it rather than just send the loose parts, because they didn't bother to really get all the grime and rust off. How you can press together parts that you didn't clean all the rust off first I don't know, but they did. I got a quite considerable amount off from accessible with Kroil, but obviously can't get where parts and the barrel are pressed together.

I'm not talking major pitted rust, but enough to really rust-stain rags wiped on it, and leaving quite a pile of particles at the bottom of the Kroil when soaking.

Should I ask it to be pulled apart and re-assembled?

And anyway, with the barrel being in the white, how can it get proper finish without disassembly? (Lack of knowledge rather than saying it can't.)

Also, for proper fit of the bipod, will I need to wait till I have the cleaning rod before sending off? It hasn't arrived yet. That's a potential issue I learned of just a few seconds ago from another recent thread here, from someone else's loose bipod mount. Mine is REALLY loose.

And just in general, what is there to ask for except such as building to a typical Combloc appearance? What might there be ask for with regard to markings? To me Cyrillic letters are cool, but I have no idea what markings might be appropriate. Or any other details that might be worth knowing.

Thank you!

·
Registered
2,601 Posts