AK Rifles banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went to the range the other day with my team and i piece of a primer somehow fell into the FCG on my buddy's M4. I was just so pissed off when he pulled the trigger and the hammer wouldnt even fall and fire the round. I told him to put in on burst and hoped that would maybe make the hammer fall. Nope. Just another reason why I love the AK. But another reason to be dissapointed at the M4... :neutral:

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
Seen it before, primer under the trigger locked up the fire control.

·
Super Moderator
25,845 Posts
That sucks! Just be damn glad it was not the two way range! Looks like Mr. Murphy was out to lunch that day.

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
Is this common with a certain type of ammo, or only when ammo is fired full-auto?

I've been shooting AR's since 85 and don't remember EVER having a primer in my lower receiver at any time.

I've been shooting FA's for the last 8 years, and STILL don't remember ever having a primer in my lower receiver.

·
Registered
945 Posts
That is a rare malfunction. You guys should have gone out and bought a lottery ticket that day. I have been using the M16/Ar15 platforms for 20 + years without ever having or seen that malfunction. Anything can happen though !

·
Registered
2,489 Posts
I was shooting some Guatemalan surplus in my AR a while back. On two range trips I had multiple complete primers pop out on firing.

I found two or three in the lower receiver after each trip while cleaning.

They did not cause a malfunction however.

·
Registered
389 Posts
That is why on US made military ammunition the primer is crimped in. Not sure about other countries.

·
Registered
2,374 Posts
couldn't a popped primer jam up an AK FCG as well?

granted there's a bit more space around the AK parts...

·
Registered
8,010 Posts
Most definately. It's just a rare malfunction that can happen to several platforms but not really the gun's fault.

·
Registered