AK Rifles banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here...picked up a couple flats recently, 1 polish underfolder and 1 regular AKM. So im really strapped for cash right now and would love to buy a kit and go that route but they are getting more and more expensive and difficult to find. The good thing is there are allot of resources out there that sell AK parts. It seems one can purchase all the parts repeatedly and cheaper than what the price the parts kit are selling these days. If you can find them.

Apparently the front and rear trunnions are the more difficult to find by themselves but there is still readily available. Am I correct is saying that once you get a hold of the truunions you can pretty much build around them, much like the AR with lower receivers. I would start with the flats, then trununions and barrel assembly than work my way from there.

You need to replace some parts with compliance parts anyways so it seems piecing a build would be the cheaper way to go.

Please chime in?

g

·
Registered
372 Posts
By the time you factor in shipping alone, you come out cheaper buying a complete kit. Think about it: A Polish uf kit is what, $350? Front trunnions alone go for $100. All the little parts add up quick. $15 selectors, $10 hammer springs, $20 top covers, etc.

I've built them piece by piece, and if you spread it out over time while searching the various WTS ads daily, it doesn't hurt as bad, but you won't come out ahead. It is easier to hide if you're married though.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
good point...anyone else??

My problem is I can't afford to drop 350-400 on a parts kit right now. Purchasing parts here and there for a while is more realistic right now.