AK Rifles banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I'm fairly new to the AK platform and in reading around I've noticed that many discussions indicate that the best magazines for an AK are the Bulgarian Waffle mags, so-called "circle 10" but I notice they are also quite expensive.

Can you help me understand why they are said to be "the best" and what advantages they offer over the steel mags.

I picked up a number of used steel mags, and brand new Zastava steel mags and am now second-guessing my decision to go with steel mags.

Thanks for any information you can share.

·
Premium Member
13,384 Posts
The Bulgarian are lighter than original steel magazines. You cannot go wrong with the original steel mags you bought and snagging a few Bulgarian circle 10 mags up is never a bad choice...:thumbsup:

·
Registered
251 Posts
The steel mags are fine, they have been a proven design since the invention of the rifle over 50 years ago.
The Bulgarian circle 10s are nice because a solid polymer that are steel reinforced in all the critical areas. I have yet to hear of anyone really having issues with them, but I am sure someone somewhere has. They are more expensive since they are far less common then surplus steel mags for all the various countries that make them. The only steel mags to shy away from are the commercial made Korean mags.
The steel mags have some advantages over the polymer mags and the polymer have some over the steel. Cant go wrong with either one. If you want some Bulgarian circle 10s you might be best served to wait until a deal pops up and you can get some for under $30. It happens if you are on the look out.

·
Premium Member
13,774 Posts
Couldn't agree more with what has already been said. I personally like steel mags and don't buy the poly ak47 mags. I just don't see the advantage of a $30 poly mag over a $10 steel surplus mag.

·
Registered
13 Posts