AK Rifles banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1,303 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am really a noob at this type of firearm, but it is the next thing I need in my collection.

I would really like a M1A, but they are a little out of my reach, price-wise, from what I have seen at shows and on Gunbroker.

I know nothing about FAL's, but see them advertised for more in my price range, $800 - $900. I am looking for a good practical shooter.

Should I just save a little longer and go with the M1A or are the FAL's good shooters?

Suggestions? Advice about alternatives what I should consider?

Thanks.

joedog

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
I don't currently have a 308, so no firsthand experience, but you could look into a Saiga.

·
Registered
4,616 Posts
I have a FAL and love it....

However, I recently bought a DPMS 308 Heavy Barrel for precision shooting.

Given .308s current price of .50/rnd I don't see the market for plinking battle rifles.

If a pile of cheap 308 surplus showed up it would change things quite a bit.

·
Registered
2,797 Posts
I vote FAL... :grin:

Just something about the feel of one....

KyAKGuy

·
Registered
774 Posts
I've got 2 FALs, an Australian L1A1 clone and an Israeli short barrel clones. bought kits and had them built. They're my favorites if I want accuracy and longer range, they are heavy to shoot off hand for very long.

I wanted a 7.62 since I'd carried an M14 (and then an M16) and I just seem to shoot better with that cartridge - and my gun safe is full. I don't own an M1A but when I got thirsty for a 7.62 that's what I started after, they were just too spendy. I've got about $750 in each of my FALs, including the builder's costs. I've just started acquiring AKs and I'd have to say they're my favorite guns to shoot often, partly because they're cheaper to shoot. just my .02 worth.

·
Super Moderator
25,849 Posts
FAL...great for the money!

·
Registered
3,359 Posts
I've got an FAL, a Siaga 21 (308) and a Cetme.