AK Rifles banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this is in the wrong place. I searched the title term and came up with two threads....neither of which gave me the guidelines I'm looking for.

I'm new to AK/VZ rifles....I bought my first VZ a few months ago and I'm in love with the reliability and the 7.62x39 round.

I want to modify a VZ, but I'm unsure about what constitutes legal modification with 922r compliance.

I have a CAI VZ-2008....that many builders won't modify so I'm looking at getting a D-Technik built VZ so I can have it SBR'd after receiving my approved form 1 and tax stamp.

However, I know the VZs that are sold by Czechpoint cannot use surplus mags with the steel floor plate b/c of 922r compliance nor can I swap in a steel trigger.

If I add a USA made compensator, I assume that counts as one US made part. If I modify certain things, like welding parts to the factory folding stock, and stamp it "USA" does that count?

If I stipple the grip, is that enough of a mod to count as a USA part?

In short, I'm looking for the guidelines and rules for 922r compliance. My main goal is to be able to use surplus mags and put a steel trigger in the gun.

Any help you can give me in finding out what forum to search in for these guidelines is greatly appreciated. I'll also do a google search and see what I can come up with.

Thanks for your time,
Sean

· Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Schultz said:

Thanks...

Some text I found as well....

922r

"Title 18 U.S.C., Chapter 44, Section 922 (r) No person shall assemble a semiautomatic rifle or any shotgun using more than 10 of the imported parts listed in paragraph (c) of this section if the assembled firearm is prohibited from importation under section 925(d)(3) as not being particularly suitable for or readily adaptable to sporting purposes."