AK Rifles banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Newbie here with AKs. Been a hunter for years but really want an AK for fun. I live in Colorado so plenty of open space.

I am looking for 7.62 only. Fixed stock and 16" barrel. I have $750 to spend for the gun only.

I have spent maybe 5-6 hours total reading up on them, so I have a long way to go. But if you had $750, what would you consider. Accuracy is less important than something that just shoots every time. Ideally I would like a black composite furniture and a collapsible stock. But not a requirement now. Can add that later.

Also I am open to add some additional parts for better reliability over the next few months. But I don't want to ever exceed $900ish.

I have heard good things about Zastava PAPs, Egyptian Maadi's and Saiga. I hear that some of the WASR 10s can be decent but that its hard to know whether you have a a lemon or not. But again I am a newbie.

I would be open to both new and used. I would buy sight unseen if I know what ask about and what I need to see via pictures.

Since I live in gun country there's tons of people on ARMSLIST selling AKs. Plus we get some pretty major gun shows in Denver.

So aside of the guns itself, are there things I need to ask or know before buying regarding reliability? Thank you all.

Gregg

·
Registered
21,767 Posts
Honestly I would wait for Black Friday and Christmas sales... in the meantime, watch the marketplace for used guns to pop up.

You say you want a fixed stock but later you say you want a collapsible one.. I'm assuming that means an AR style stock. You might consider getting a side folder if it's legal in your state/local area. I find that the polymer folding stock features the comfort of a regular stock with the compact storage of a folder.. but there are quite a few choices out there.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4