AK Rifles banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I recently bought a 1958 Polish KbK Model "N" kit from Apex:

I am wondering if there is a way to build this rifle with a stamped receiver from Childers Guns:

This however would need a front and rear trunnion, so I was thinking of these:

and a barrel from Fabryka Broni:

Would all of these parts work together? I am a beginner to the whole world of AK's, and I would appreciate any help. Search results did not show up anything related to this topic, other than people building this kit with a milled receiver.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Please be aware that milled (AK) barrel parts will generally not fit on a stamped (AKM) barrel. (The exception being a Chinese stamped rifle barrel, which mostly are milled diameter barrels, example MAK90)

The link you provided shows the item sold out, anyway. I couldn't tell from my lil phone screen if that barrel is for a milled gun or stamped gun...

Anyway. In my opinion, the best course of action would be to order a proper milled (press & pin) or (screw-in) receiver, and forget about using a stamped receiver. There are several choices, but only one of them IMO will be "right". However, the others will work and result will be a functional rifle.
1. Tortort milled Russian/Bulgarian/Polish. Either press & pin or screw-in barrel type 3. Of course, you will need the appropriate barrel as well. Tortort makes both 100% & 80% receivers and in my opinion, they are superb.

AKBuilder is always a good choice for barrels.

2. Firing Line also makes a type 3 receiver. I have never used one because I didn't like the way the maker's logo was displayed...

3. ATM receiver from BlackMarket Arms on Gunbroker. These are well made, relatively inexpensive and OH so very smooth actions. They are the same receivers used on the Century Polish model 1960 rifles (Century sold, not Century built, as the story goes) and these have a very fine reputation.