Need Help with Century Arms AK

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Need Help with Century Arms AK

This is my first post to the AK Forum.

Recently, I acquired a Century International Arms AK, Model M70B1. It was made by DC Industries, Inc., Saint Paul, Minnesota. It appears to be in excellent condition. The last time I picked up an AK was in 1977, while serving in the Army, and that was only for familiarization purposes. In other words, I am a novice in regard to AK's, though I am well-versed in other military weapons.

When I purchased the AK, the gun-shop owner said he would have to fish around for a magazine for me, as the guy who sold the AK to him didn't provide him with any mags. The gun-shop owner then gave me a magazine, which he himself could not get to seat in the AK. I got the gun at a good price, so I said what the hell, I'll figure it out later.

I can't figure it. I downloaded a manual from the internet, and consulted it. It seems very straightforward, yet I cannot get the mag to seat properly. It just won't go in all the way! The magazine latch has a very stiff spring, but not that stiff.

So, my question to you fellows on this forum is this - are there different variants of the AK magazine? Are the all interchangeable, or do some work in some guns, and not others? As I said, I am well-versed with other weapons, and am no neophyte when it comes to firearms. I'm pretty sure that I am not doing anything wrong and that the gun is okay, I think it is the mag.

Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Member #
    Liked
    339 times
    Post a picture of the mag it you can. It sounds like you might have a 5.45 or .223 AK mag of some variety, or possibly a VZ58 magazine

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    430 times