Valmet, Galil and AK similiarity/Why no Valmet clone?

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Valmet, Galil and AK similiarity/Why no Valmet clone?

I'm not an expert on either the Galil or the Valmet, so please forgive me if I'm way off my rocker here, but I'm wondering if it'd be possible to make a 7.62x39 Valmet clone?

Before you laugh, the only reason I ask is that I read that early Galils were originally built on receivers made by Valmet, and the Valmet influence in the overall design looks like it's there. Granted the Galil and the RK 62 are different calibers but I'm wondering if other than the differences in caliber and stock attachment systems on the receivers there is reasonable similiarity? Could not someone use a 5.56 Galil receiver as a guide to make a 7.62x39 Valmet receiver?

As far as internal parts, could someone tell me which 7.62x39 mm Valmet parts are not interchangeable with regular AKs? Or, if most of them are not, which ones ARE interchangeable?

The Valmet cheese grater handguard and gas tube would probably be the hardest thing to acquire (looking at the gas tube it looks like it would be different than an AK one). I think I've seen fixed wood butts for Valmets floating around before though...and then there's Ironwood maybe??

Lastly, what about the front and rear sights on 5.56 Galils and 7.62x39 Valmets? Are they the same?

I dunno...It just seems to me that if someone could make a US made Galil receiver a 7.62x39 Valmet receiver would be possible too...or not...

Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    The closest thing to a Valmet clone previously on the market was the KTR-03V (vepr/rpk based) and KTR-03S (akm based) rifles by Krebs Custom. Both are out of production.

I hear Ohio Rapid Fire might be making 7.62x39 receivers for galil parts kits. A good custom smith would be able to turn a galil kit + receiver + AKM & USA parts into a real work of art.