• 1 Post By Bret
  • 2 Post By Obstreperous
  • 2 Post By TPinFl

Thread: Parts kit questions

Member #
    Liked
    8 times

Parts kit questions

Hey y'all, forgive me if this has been covered elsewhere. Hate to start a new thread, but I didn't see anything specifically addressing the questions I have.

I'm still fairly new to the AK world, although I have learned a lot through this forum as well as YT gun channels etc. I have two Romy kits that were built for me as I lack tools and a work space to do it myself. I have an Izhevsk barrel trunnion that I want to turn into a rifle... I found in my searching that a lot of the Russian parts kits have no trunnion, which is why I grabbed this one since they seem very hard to locate. Compared to other nations' kits ie Romania, why the missing trunnions?

Also, I know this might be tough to answer but do you guys see the parts kits supply in general drying up anytime soon? I'm trying to decide whether to invest in collecting a stash of kits and receivers first and then build them later, or get the rifle built as soon I get a kit. With the constant threat of AWB hanging overhead I'm trying to hedge my bets as best as I can.

Thanks for your time.
    MPiKM-72 likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    6298 times
    The importers (ATI - I believe - this was 10 years ago) of the mismatched Russian parts kits seemed to not care about keeping the kit parts together.

They also made an attempt to make "milled" AK rifles. The receivers resembled NOTHING ever made on the European continent. Maybe they worked but they looked awful.

I believe the Russian trunnions from those kits may have been damaged during demil. They seemed to hire the lowest cost workers to demil those kits. I will forever spit at ATI for that choice.

Me in charge of a low budget demil project.

Constantly studying spots welds, mag well dimple shapes, center support rivet heads and selector markings for the last 12 years...

BTW - Keep your BFH away from my AK!