AK Rifles banner

TULA AKM Parts Kit for Review

6K views 66 replies 10 participants last post by  mad_zombie_lenin 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi All-

So I just got my 1969 Tula AKM parts kits from RGuns and I was looking for advice and feedback as to what's what. I just spent 4 hours poring over this site, so here's what I have so far. Please let me know if I'm right or wrong, as I'm not an expert by any means!!! I'm less concerned about the manufacturer of the serial matched items than I am about the other parts. I was excited about getting a Tula mostly for the gorgeous wood, and my Tula replacement stock looks great!

Matching S/Ns:
Top Cover
Front Trunnion
Bolt Carrier and Bolt
Upper Hand Guard

Tula
Upper Hand Guard
Lower Hand Guard
Lower Hand Guard Retainer
Pistol Grip
Trigger Guard
Rear Sight and Rear Sight Block
Butt Stock

Izhevsk

Rear Trunnion
Barrel/Front End Components
Safety - (no serial # anywhere)
Recoil Guide
PG Block
Trigger
Most of the internal bits
(and yes, the Izzy magazine is a stand-in ;-)

Shotgun Wood
Shotgun Wood
Belt Buckle Shotgun
Shotgun
Shotgun Scabbard Knife

THANKS VERY MUCH FOR YOUR HELP! :)

See less See more
#7 · (Edited)
Matching S/Ns:
Top Cover
Front Trunnion
Bolt Carrier and Bolt
Upper Hand Guard

Tula???
Upper Hand Guard Looks Tula, original to GT
Lower Hand Guard?? Tula like. Diamond = replacement?
Lower Hand Guard Retainer? - (has coarse mill marks) Looks like Tula machining, look on lever and elsewhere for proofs
Pistol Grip Tula "x-x" mold number
Trigger Guard - (I see a circle proof in there) Definitely Tula
Rear Sight and Rear Sight Block? Both look Tula

Izhevsk?
Butt Stock and Rear Trunnion - it's too bad the stock had dark blotches under the coating...any idea what I can do to pretty it up? Izzy RT, hex proof. stock unsure but very Izzy like grain and coloring.
Barrel/Front End Components Looks like a triangle proof on the milled GB but the FSB eludes me. Looks cast. Tantal?